DIY Stash Box

DIY1

One day, I was browsing the internet in search of watercolor stash boxes. I couldn’t find a single one, so I decided to make my own. I had no idea how to execute the vision I had inside my head which resulted in a few errors along the way. It took me a total of three tries to get what I wanted, but in the end I was proud of what I created.

Anyways, since I’m feeling overly confident and cocky about how nice I think this box turned out, I thought I’d share it with you.

You will need the following supplies:

  • Wooden Box (I purchased mine from Hobby Lobby while it was 50% off)
  • Watercolor Paints
  • Acrylic Paint
  • Bristle Paint Brush
  • Foam Brush
  • Matte Mod Podge
  • Water
  • Sandpaper (semi-optional)

I started this project off by painting it, but really, looking back, I should have started off by sanding the box of any imperfections. Luckily, I didn’t run into any big issues due to not sanding.

IMG_0863

If you decide to give this a try, you’re probably aware that your box will not turn out exactly like mine. However, if you would like to use the same colors as me, I used the darkest shade of blue, and pink in my watercolor palette. I also did two coats of paint and used my foam brush dipped in clean water to help transition the colors.

IMG_0886

As you can see, in the image above, there are a couple of water streaks, but dont worry! If this happens, just add more water or another coat of paint to the area. I had chosen not to fix mine, I thought it gave the box more character.

I painted a pot leaf to the top of the box, using acrylic paint. And finally, I sealed the box with 2 coats of Matte Mod Podge, letting the box dry in-between coats.

IMG_0934

I am absolutely in love with how this box turned out. The possibilities with this are truly endless. I enjoyed this project a lot, even with all the hurdles as I wouldn’t be learning… what not to do in the future lol.

IMG_0945

PLEASE NOTE: I am not suggesting you store your stash in the box by itself. I suggest you get a small glass jar to place inside the box. This box is great for storing your lighters, pipes, small stash jars, and grinders.

Leave a comment